Drag Racing Action.

Images: Rhonda Hough McCole



 Defending D2 Competition Eliminator champion David Eaton from Merritt Island Fla. picked up where he left off in 2023 taking the first Lucas Oil race of the year at Orlando Speed World Dragway.

Eaton qualified his ’32 Bantam A/AP in the #1 spot with a 0.581 under 6.599 and defeated the K/KA Bantam of Connecticut racer Mike Hanratty in the finals. Eaton cruised to an easy 7.543 win over the troubled mid twelve second run of Hanratty. The win at Orlando was Eaton’s 12th career Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Wally.


Harrison, near lane, took the Super Stock win at Orlando

Jim Harrison from Albion Ill. drove his popular “Snoopy” ’66 Nova to the Super Stock title at Orlando. Harrison’s SS/JA Chevy defeated Division Five racer Doug Engels similar GT/HA ’67 Nova in a double breakout final. Harrison got off the line first with a great 0.010 light to Engels’ close 0.029 but it was Engels’ 10.101 on his 10.12 losing to Harrison’s 10.146 on his 10.15 dial.

The win was Harrisons 2nd career Lucas win.


Division One racer Troy Huntzberry won the Stock title at Orlando defeating Kansas racer Darrel Goheen in the finals. Huntzberry behind the wheel of his A/SA ’69 Camaro had the better light with a 0.017 RT to Goheen’s later 0.064 and it made the difference at the stripe as the C/SA ’94 Camaro of Goheen ran closer to his dial with a 10.805 on a 10.80 dial but it was Huntzberry winning his first ever Lucas Divisional with a 10.31 on  his 10.30 dial.


Savannah Ga. racer Joseph Fuller drove his dragster to a Super comp win over multi time champ Frank Altilo from Orange City Fla.

Altilio was second off the line with a 0.084 light and second at the finish line losing with a 8.944 to Fuller’s 8.910 on the 8.90 index. The finals at Orlando were Fuller’s first time going that deep in eliminations and resulted in his first career Wally.


Taylor, near lane, took a tight final in Super Gas over the Chevy of Perry 

Tennessee racer John Taylor took his venerable ’99 Dodge Dakota to the Super Gas win beating fellow Tennessee racer James Perry in the final. In a battle of two trucks, Perry’s ’00 S-10 cut a great 0.002 light and looked like the winner as Taylor was second off the line with a 0.023 but Perry pushed it too much at the top end breaking out with a 9.898 to the winning 9.95 of Taylor. The win was Taylor’s sixth in Super Gas and his 8th career


In a wheels up final, Webb, near lane, took the win over Mike Ruff

Joining the Lucas Oil first-time club was Super Street winner Donald Webb. Webb from Four Oaks N.C. got his ’70 Nova off the line first with a 0.009 RT and ran a near perfect 10.906 beating the breaking  out 10.891 of local racer Michael Ruff. Ruff had a 0.027 light and needed to push Webb on the top end but ended up going too quick in his ’92 Camaro.


Dale Thaxton from Butler, Ga. drove his sharp ’03 Mustang to a Top Sportsman win defeating Scott Underwood ’18 Camaro. Underwood from Madison, Ala., slowed in the finals running a off pace 9.378 on his 7.30 dial as Thaxton posted a 7.424 on a 7.31 dial for his second Lucas Oil Series Wally.



Multi time champ Mike Fuqua from Hendersonville, Tenn won his 5th career Lucas Divisional beating Brian Maine from Chesapeake, Va.

Fuqua was off the line first with a 0.015 light and ran a great 7.44 on his 7.43 dial as Maine pushed his dragster too much breaking out with a 7.218 on his 7.25 light.

Next up on the D2 schedule is the Baby Gators March 1-3 at Gainesville Raceway